50 Women to Watch

50 Women to Watch: Marcie Dickson

Marcie Dickson, President, Tapestry ADR (National Arbitration and Mediation)

Marcie Dickson is a leading voice on diversity, equity, inclusion, accessibility, and belonging in alternative dispute resolution. She is the President of Tapestry ADR, a division of National Arbitration and Mediation.

At Tapestry ADR, Marcie focuses on developing and promoting a wide range of strategic initiatives, including expansion in key markets, new services, and technology solutions. She also leads efforts to enhance diversity, equity, inclusion, accessibility, and belonging (DEIAB) practices at Tapestry, NAM, and the broader legal community.

Before transitioning to NAM, Marcie founded Alterity ADR, a groundbreaking arbitration and mediation firm with a prestigious national roster of arbitrators and mediators and the largest national minority-owned ADR company. Previously, she served as Chief Marketing & Business Development Officer of a large ADR firm, where she helped transform the company into a market leader.

Marcie frequently speaks at law firms, insurance companies, affinity bar groups, and various community organizations about conflict resolution, ADR best practices, and the importance of equity in ADR. She has been quoted and published on a national level in several publications, including Bloomberg Law, Forbes, The American Lawyer, Law360, and the American Bar Association.

Her current civic and professional activities include serving as Vice-Chair of Diversity for the American Bar Association’s Tort Trial & Insurance Practice section; a board member of Southern Lawyer; an editorial advisory member of Harvard Business Review; a steering committee member of the Equal Representation in Arbitration Pledge; a steering committee member of the Black In-House Counsel; and an executive member of Forbes Business Council. Additionally, Marcie serves on the Board of Directors of Essential Theatre, the longest-running theater company exclusively dedicated to supporting Georgia playwrights. She is devoted to teaching conflict resolution and negotiation skills at various community organizations.

In her spare time, Marcie works on several writing projects and runs short and long races. She resides in Atlanta with her family.

What is the most influential piece of advice (professional or personal) you have received?

"Never apologize to your family for wanting to work, and never apologize at work for being a mother."

Where do you see the legal profession in 10+ years?

It’s difficult to predict the future of any profession, but based on recent technological advancements, social changes, and industry trends, I think the industry will continue to see significant transformation. From the way we integrate technology, to an emergence of more legal-tech focused companies, we will likely see more of a shift in how we rely on new solutions to solve legal and business problems. And I hope social impact will continue to serve as a counterbalance to this transformation over the next decade

What is/are your favorite extracurricular activity/activities?

As much as I try to disavow the fact that I’m an extrovert, it’s true; most of my activities center around supporting others – in the community and within my personal circle. I am currently advising an art marketplace startup and heavily focused on designing dispute resolution programs for local, community organizations. I am also trying to write more. I have committed to authoring a chapter for an upcoming anthology and have a couple personal writing projects in development.

What is one thing people should know about you but don't?

I’m fairly athletic. I was an All-American basketball player in high school and a few years ago picked up running. I would run a marathon every month if I had more time.

Name your hometown/where you were born/where you grew up and where you live now.

I was born and raised in South Orange, New Jersey – less than 20 miles west of Manhattan. I currently live in Atlanta.

If you were not a legal professional, what other line of work would you pursue?

Novelist or college professor.

Anything else you'd like to share?

I’m the proud mother of the most incredible 11-year old and 8-year old kids.

More from the CCBJ Blog

More from the CCBJ Blog