50 Women to Watch

50 Women to Watch: Deanna Reitman

Deanna Reitman, Of Counsel - Projects and Energy, DLA Piper LLP (US)

Deanna Reitman has over 20 years of experience working in commodity markets and more than 18 years of senior management experience. Her background encompasses legal, regulatory and business experience in commodities, with a particular focus on energy. She has extensive global energy commodity legal and regulatory experience.

Deanna is a skilled communicator and team manager with a record of success in achieving complicated objectives. Her core competency is in legal and regulatory global commodity marketing and trading, in both physical and financial markets.

At DLA Piper, Deanna draws upon her experience as an in-house counsel for energy commodities marketing and trading firms to advise on the structuring of transactions and provide regulatory and commercial advice to energy clients.

What is your proudest achievement?

My proudest achievement is my family. I love how we love one another, support each other and keep each other honest. I could not be prouder of my husband and my sons.

What is the most influential piece of advice (professional or personal) you have received?

The most influential piece of advice I received is “No matter how daunting the “to do” list, it all gets done, as long as you do each task one at a time and never give up.” Essentially, the advice from Dory holds true “just keep swimming, swimming, swimming… “

Where do you see the legal profession in 10+ years?

In 10 years, the Commodities Practice will be one of the largest practices at the law firm, covering all commodities from agriculture, energy, metal, carbon, digital assets, etc. in every aspect of the law.

What is/are your favorite extracurricular activity/activities?

My favorite extracurricular activity is to be with my family – eating!! We like to eat good food – there is no tasting menu that we will not try together.

What is one thing people should know about you but don't?

I come from a very humble upbringing, in a close tightknit family, from a very small town with one blinking light.

Name your hometown/where you were born/where you grew up and where you live now.

I was born in Newburgh. My hometown is Marlboro, NY, which is where I grew up. I am now living in Texas and Connecticut.

If you were not a legal professional, what other line of work would you pursue?

I would want to be a 5th grade teacher.

Anything else you would like to share?

I want to say thank you to all my colleagues, friend, and clients that nominated me for the 50 Women to Watch Initiative, and let them know that I am thankful that they can see my passion for my work, my friends, my family and my life.

More from the CCBJ Blog

More from the CCBJ Blog