50 Women to Watch

50 Women to Watch: Alison Wisniewski

Alison Wisniewski, Chief Legal Officer & Secretary, Epiq

Alison Wisniewski is chief legal officer and secretary for Epiq. Wisniewski has more than a decade of experience in the legal profession. Wisniewski manages general matters including mergers & acquisitions, corporate governance, sales transactions, commercial transactions, data privacy, compliance, risk management, intellectual property, and transactional employment matters. Wisniewski also is the executive sponsor of Epiq's DEI Program and ESG/CSR Program.

Prior to Epiq, Wisniewski practiced in-house at an asset management company, where she assisted the FDIC in the dissolution of various banks throughout the country. Wisniewski has also practiced at Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel LLP and Sidley Austin LLP representing corporate and private equity clients in various matters including mergers & acquisitions, securities filings, and corporate governance.

Wisniewski holds a J.D. from Fordham University School of Law and a Bachelor of Science degree from Northwestern University.

What is your proudest achievement?

My proudest career achievement is becoming the chief legal officer of Epiq, having worked my way from legal counsel to the position, and doing so early on in my career. In addition to legal, I have responsibility for compliance and DEI, two areas I never thought I would learn about or have expertise in. My proudest personal achievement is my children, Mason (11) and Addie (7). I am sure every parent says this about their kids, but mine are smart, kind and compassionate. I don't know what my life would be without them.

What is the most influential piece of advice (professional or personal) you have received?

Learn how to balance your career and your personal life because you need to achieve that balance in order to find success in both areas. It is easier said than done, but I try every day to find the right balance. Some days I am successful and others I struggle.

What is one thing people should know about you but don't?

I studied theater at Northwestern. And while I no longer pursue acting as a career, I love singing, whether in the car, while on the Peloton or at a dive karaoke bar.

Name your hometown/where you were born/where you grew up and where you live now.

I was born on Long Island, New York, but grew up in Mamaroneck, NY. After college (Chicago) and law school (NYC), I stayed in NYC for a number of years before moving out of NYC to White Plains, NY where I met my husband. We ultimately settled in Stamford, CT with our two children and our goldendoodle, Melody.

More from the CCBJ Blog

More from the CCBJ Blog