Kenneth R. Feinberg Receives CPR Institute's James F. Henry Award

Tuesday, March 2, 2010 - 00:00

The International Institute for Conflict Prevention & Resolution (CPR Institute) has awarded its 2009 James F. Henry Award to Kenneth R. Feinberg. The award, named for the organization's founder, was presented at CPR Institute's Annual Meeting on January 14 at the Barclay InterContinental in New York City.

Enjoying an illustrious career working on some of the most significant issues in recent history, Mr. Feinberg is considered a leader in mediation with major high stakes ADR experience.

He is, perhaps, best known for serving as the Special Master of the September 11th Victim Compensation Fund. Mr. Feinberg, who chose to serve without pay for 33 months, evaluated thousands of applications and determined the compensation for the families of September 11th victims. Under his leadership, the Fund was an overwhelming success, with over 97% of those eligible choosing the Fund over litigation. In the end, a total of seven billion dollars was distributed.

In the 1980s, Mr. Feinberg secured a $180 million settlement between veterans and their families and the manufacturers of Agent Orange. Later, as an arbitrator, Mr. Feinberg determined the fair market value of the original Zapruder film of President Kennedy's assassination, awarding $16 million to heirs of the family. More recently, following the Virginia Tech shootings, Mr. Feinberg became Fund Administrator for the Hokie Spirit Memorial Fund. He was also involved in designing and implementing an ADR program for Liberty Mutual Insurance Company, Zurich N.A. Insurance Company and Hurricane Katrina and other Gulf of Mexico hurricane victims.

Mr. Feinberg's skills transcend party lines, with appointments from both Republican and Democratic Presidents. He was appointed by President Reagan to serve as a commissioner on nuclear accidents. President Clinton also appointed him to a commission on human radiation experiments conducted during the Cold War. More recently, President Obama named Feinberg the Special Master of Executive Compensation for companies receiving exceptional assistance from the government.

The CPR Institute has presented the organization's second annual "Award for Outstanding Contribution to Diversity in Alternative Dispute Resolution" to Laurel Pyke Malson. The Award was presenting on January 14 in New York City during the CPR Institute's Annual Meeting.

CPR Institute's National Task Force on Diversity created this Award to recognize a person who has contributed significantly to diversity in the alternative dispute resolution field by providing access to or creating opportunities to people who have historically been excluded from active and meaningful participation in ADR, including, but not limited to, women, minorities and/or people of color.

Ms. Malson has been a long-time advocate of diversity in the legal profession generally, and within the alternative dispute resolution field in particular. She currently serves with distinction on the CPR Institute's National Task Force on Diversity in ADR. Established in 2006, the Task Force initiates and develops strategies for increasing the participation of women and people of color in mediation, arbitration and other alternative dispute resolution processes.

Ms. Malson serves as a mediator for the United States District Court for the District of Columbia, and on the CPR Institute's Panel of Distinguished Neutrals. From 2001 to 2004, she served as Chairman of the Committee on Grievances for the U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia.

The CPR Institute has given its third annual "Law Firm Award for Excellence in Alternative Dispute Resolution" to Boston Law Collaborative, LLC for its pioneering work in the field of collaborative law. The Award was presented on January 14 in New York City during the CPR Institute's Annual Meeting.

Located in Boston, MA, the Boston Law Collaborative provides legal representation and dispute resolution services, as well as training and consulting, focusing on family, business, and employment cases.

The award review committee comprised corporate counsel from General Electric, DuPont, Abbott Labs, Northrop Grumman, and Johnson & Johnson, as well as faculty from the University of Missouri School of Law, Columbia Law School and Pepperdine University's School of Law.

Focusing on criteria including processes, techniques, systems, commitment and scholarship which address the resolution, prevention or creative management of major disputes, the committee acknowledged Boston Law Collaborative for: demonstrating firm-wide commitment to conflict resolution; educating legal professionals and clients about ADR and the collaborative law process; and employing a unique multi-disciplinary approach to its legal representation and its dispute resolution work.