Bettina B. Plevan InstalledAs New ABCNY President

Tuesday, June 1, 2004 - 00:00

Bettina (Betsy) B. Plevan was installed as president of the Association of the Bar of the City of New York (ABCNY) at this year's Annual Meeting of the Association on Tuesday, May 18. Ms. Plevan succeeds E. Leo Milonas as the 61st president in the Association's 133-year history.

The new slate of Association officers and members of the executive and Audit committees also took officethat evening.

Ms. Plevan, a partner at the firm Proskauer Rose LLP, has devoted much time to the public interest and the improvement of the legal profession. She was president of the Federal Bar Council from 1996-1998 and vice chair of The Legal Aid Society; and has served as director of the Committee for Modern Courts, New York Lawyers for the Public Interest and Volunteers of Legal Service.

In her many years of active membership at the Association, Plevan has served as a member of the Executive Committee (1981-85); chair of the Committee on State Courts of Superior Jurisdiction (1978-81); chair of the Council on Judicial Administration (1985-1988); chair of the Special Committee on Women in the Profession (1989-1992); and chair of the Committee on Long Range Planning (1992-1995).

Mark G. Cunha, of Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP; Mary Jo White, of Debevoise & Plimpton, and Alvin K. Hellerstein, judge of the U.S. District Court (SDNY), are serving as the Association's three vice presidents.

Helaine M. Barnett, president of the Legal Services Corporation, will continue as treasurer, and Cyrus D. Mehta, of Cyrus D. Mehta and Associates PLLC, will continue as secretary.

The Executive Committee Class of 2008 are as follows: Norman L. Greene, of Schoeman, Updike and Kaufman LLP; John S. Kiernan, of Debevoise & Plimpton; Peter M. Kougasian of the New York County District Attorney's Office, and George Wheeler Madison of TIAA-CREF.

Barry M. Kamins, of Flamhaft Levy Kamins & Hirsch, will serve as chair of the Executive Committee and Andrew A. Scherer, Executive Director of Legal Services for New York City, will be the secretary of the Executive Committee.