AALL Elects New Officers, Board Members

Monday, November 26, 2018 - 11:45


The American Association of Law Libraries (AALL) officially announces that having recently concluded its membership elections for terms beginning in July 2019, Emily R. Florio will serve a one-year term as the organization’s vice president/president elect and Cornell H. Winston as its treasurer. Emily Janoski-Haehlen and Jason Sowards were elected to AALL’s board of directors, where they will serve from July 2019 to July 2022.
“As a member-driven organization, it’s essential our officers and directors operate as leaders willing to give their time, their expertise and their long-term commitment to the success and growth of AALL,” said Femi Cadmus, president of AALL. “I’m particularly proud to serve with so many dedicated leaders and to know this strong commitment to our association and profession will continue with those who have been newly elected.”
Florio is director of research and information services at Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner, LLP in Washington, D.C. while Winston is a law librarian & records center supervisor for the U.S. Attorney’s Office in Los Angeles. New board member Janoski-Haehlen serves as associate dean of academic affairs and institutional excellence, director of the law library at the University of Akron, and Sowards serves as law librarian and director of the Nevada Supreme Court Law Library.
“AALL has been fortunate to enjoy a long history of committed thought leaders who have given their time to guide and shape the organization,” noted Vani Ungapen, executive director of AALL. “We are proud to continue this legacy with this year’s election of our new officers and board members and I look forward to working with them as they begin their terms next summer.”
Newly elected officers and board of directors will be installed at the AALL Annual Meeting & Conference in July 2019 in Washington, D.C.