WMACCA Corporate Counsel Awards Honor Washington Area Leaders

Tuesday, November 2, 2010 - 00:00

On Thursday, October 14, 2010 the Washington Metropolitan Area Corporate Counsel Association (WMACCA), the largest regional bar association for in-house counsel, tonight announced the winners of the Sixth Annual Corporate Counsel Awards. The awards honor the work of the region's leading in-house counsel practitioners over the past year in the categories of Outstanding Chief Legal Officer, Outstanding In-House Counsel, Outstanding Law Department, and Community Service. Held at the Ritz-Carlton Tysons Corner in McLean, Virginia, the awards reception attracted a crowd of more than 300 people from the legal and business communities.

Chosen from a field of 13 finalists, the winners of the 2010 WMACCA Corporate Counsel Awards are:

Outstanding Chief Legal Officer Scott D. Chaplin, Stanley, Inc.; Outstanding In-House Counsel Joshua J. Izenberg, Alion Science and Technology Corporation; Outstanding Law Department the George Washington University Office of General CounselCommunity Service Award; and Robert E. Gans, CSC.

"The successful in-house practice of law requires a unique blend of legal and non-legal skills, attention to company standards and industry trends, and an ability to provide tailored and proactive advice and counsel to our colleagues in our organizations," said Curtis L. Schehr, WMACCA president. "WMACCA is pleased to recognize our colleagues for their abilities and achievements, and it is wonderful to see the excitement these awards generate among the finalists and winners, and among their friends and colleagues."

"The talent and accomplishments of this year's finalists was truly impressive and made the judges' job quite challenging. We are proud to celebrate the energy, creativity, integrity and intelligence of these lawyers and their departments," said Kevin S. Lapidus chair of the Corporate Counsel Awards.

The finalists were selected from a large pool of nominations submitted by the legal community at large in response to an open call for nominations. The panel of judges for the Corporate Counsel Awards was comprised of:

Mike Daniels, chairman, GlobalLogic, Inc.; The Honorable Thomas M. Davis III, director, Deloitte Services LP; Ronald S. Flagg, president, DC Bar, and partner, Sidley Austin LLP; Fred Krebs, president of the Association of Corporate Counsel; Kevin S. Lapidus, member of the board of directors of WMACCA, chair of the Corporate Counsel Awards, and senior VP and general counsel, SunEdison; Thomas D. Murphy, president, Maryland State Bar Association, and partner, Murphy & Mood, PC; Curtis L. Schehr, president of WMACCA, and VP and general counsel, DCS Corporation; Ryan M. Schwarz, managing director, The Carlyle Group; and Louise M. Wager, VP, Government Contract Lending, TD Bank.